WASHINGTON ASSOCIATION OF SHERIFFS & POLICE CHIEFS

3060 Willamette Drive NE Lacey, WA 98516 ~ Phone: (360) 486-2380 ~ Fax: (360) 486-2381 ~ Website: www.waspc.org

Serving the Law Enforcement Community and the Citizens of Washington

TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMITTEE AGENDA ANNUAL MEETING - MAY 24, 2022 / 1:30 – 3:00 PM SPOKANE, WASHINGTON



Committee name: Traffic Safety

Committee co-chair: Union Gap Police Chief Greg Cobb **Committee co-chair:** Garfield County Sheriff Drew Hyer

Date of report: 5/24/2022

Does your committee have a charter? 🖂 Yes \square No \square Not Sure

(copy of current charter attached)

If so, when was it last reviewed? 1/23/2013

Co-Chair(s) briefly outline mission/purpose of committee: The Traffic Safety Committee serves the membership in overseeing, reviewing and making recommendations on traffic safety related legislation, programs, equipment, training and activities for WASPC agencies.

Agenda:

Time	Duration	Item
1:30 PM	5 min	Welcome, agenda review – Co-chairs Cobb and Hyer.
1:35 PM	20 min	Report from WTSC Director Shelly Baldwin on alarming trends in fatal and
		serous crashes
1:55 PM	10 min	Roll Call Videos & Poll: Would you like to see more of these produced so
		you can use them in your agency?
2:05 PM	20 min	WSP Impaired Driving Section Update – WSP Lt. Clark Jones
2:25 PM	30 min	Recommendations from the Traffic Safety Subcommittee
		 Team 1 – Yakima PD Capt. Shawn Boyle
		 Team 2 – WSP Capt. James Mjor
2:55 PM	5 min	Announcements:
		 High Visibility Enforcement (HVE) Listening Session – June 3rd, 9:00 AM to 10:30 AM.
		 DDACTS National Agency Strategic Planning Session – June 21-22,
		Spokane County Sheriff's office. To register, contact Cmdr. (ret.)
		Daniel Howard at danhoward@iadlest.org or Sgt. Martin Tucker at
		mvtucker@spokanesheriff.org.
3:00 PM		Adjourn

Recommendations and/or action to be taken: