

3060 Willamette Drive NE Lacey, WA 98516 360-486-2380 (Phone) 360-486-2381 (Fax) www.waspc.org

President Sheriff Rick Scott Grays Harbor County

President-Elect Chief Steve Crown City of Wenatchee

Vice President Sheriff Tom Jones Grant County

Past President Chief Craig Meidl City of Spokane

Treasurer Chief Brett Vance City of Montesano

Executive Board

Chief John Batiste Washington State Patrol

Chief Cherie Harris City of Kirkland

Sheriff Mitzi Johanknecht King County

Chief Darrell Lowe City of Redmond

Sheriff Kevin Morris Douglas County

Chief Rafael Padilla City of Kent

Sheriff James Raymond Franklin County

Don Voiret, SAC FBI—Seattle

Chief Sam White Lower Elwha Klallam Police Department

Steven D. Strachan Executive Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 1, 2021

CONTACT: Steven D. Strachan Executive Director (360) 486-2380

DOUGLAS COUNTY SHERIFF KEVIN MORRIS NAMED TO EXECUTIVE BOARD OF STATEWIDE LAW ENFORCMENT ORGANIZATION

(Lacey) --- Douglas County Sheriff Kevin Morris has been named to the executive board of the Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs (WASPC). He was appointed by WASPC President Sheriff Rick Scott of Grays Harbor County to fill a vacant position.

"Sheriff Morris has stepped up to provide leadership for statewide law enforcement at a critical time," said Steve Strachan, WASPC executive director. "We appreciate his willingness to serve. "

WASPC was founded in 1963 and consists of executive and top management personnel from law enforcement agencies statewide. With more than 900 members it includes the 39 elected county sheriffs, and 240 police chiefs, as well as the Washington State Patrol, the Washington Department of Corrections, and representatives of Tribal and federal agencies.

WASPC is the only association of its kind in the nation combining representatives from local, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement into a single body, working toward a common goal. WASPC's function is to provide specific materials and services to all law enforcement agencies in the state, members, and non-members alike.

###