

Washington Association of SHERIFFS & POLICE CHIEFS

3060 Willamette Drive NE Lacey, WA 98516 360-486-2380 (Phone) 360-486-2381 (Fax) www.waspc.org

President Chief Darrell Lowe City of Redmond

President-Elect Sheriff John Nowels Spokane County

Vice President Chief Rafael Padilla City of Kent

Past President Sheriff Kevin Morris Douglas County

Treasurer Chief Damon Simmons City of Liberty Lake

Executive Board

Chief Michelle Bennett City of Edmonds

Chief Rebecca Mertzig City of Bellingham

Sheriff Clay Myers Kittitas County

Chief Greg Cobb Union Gap Police Department

Sheriff James Raymond Franklin County

Sheriff Brad Thurman Cowlitz County

Chief Sam White Lower Elwha Klallam Police Department

Chief John Batiste Washington State Patrol

Richard Collodi, SAC FBI—Seattle

Steven D. Strachan Executive Director

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING MINUTES

February 5, 2025 | 9:00 AM WASPC Offices

CALL TO ORDER:

President Darrell Lowe called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM.

Approval of Minutes for 11/19/2024: Motion made with approve minutes with minor changes by Sheriff Myers. Second by Chief Cobb. Motion passed unanimously.

FINANCE COMMITTEE REPORT:

Disbursements: Check number 47074 through 47210 (11/12/24-01/21/25) for \$3,720,581.50 (full listing provided in board packet) Staff is working to close out the books for 2024. No financial statements prepared for this meeting.

Need motion to APPROVE the disbursements. Motion to APPROVE request by Chief Padilla. Second by Sheriff Nowels. Motion passed unanimously.

2024 Federal and Financial Statement Audit

Staff met with our audit team from Clark Nuber to begin planning for the 2024 audits. Field work is scheduled for the April 7-18.

WASPC Grant Requests –

Two grant requests have been received and are included in the packet. 1. Olympia – Traffic Safety Equipment \$19,100 Staff recommendation - decline, other funding sources available for traffic safety equipment 2. Sunnyside – Training \$7,500

Need motion to APPROVE any grant recommendations. WASPC Board Members voted and did NOT approve the grant requests presented above.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR UPDATE:

Executive Director Steve Strachan gave the Executive Board an update on the Spring Conference plans for May 2025. He also discussed with the board conversations surrounding ICE/Interviews, Rapid DNA, Namus & Legislative Topics.

NEW BUSINESS:

David Doll shared As of December 31st, 2024, Camas PD Captain Shyla Nelson's term expired as an Accreditation Commissioner, representing one of two Accreditation Manager Appointments. Captain Nelson is the Accreditation Manager for Camas PD, and David Doll respectfully requests her reappointment to an additional three-year term, to expire at the end of 2027. Motion to APPROVE request by Sheriff Morris. Second by Chief Padilla. Motion passed unanimously. The Executive Board moved to confirm Chief Coleman Langdon of Lynnwood PD to replace Michelle Bennett of Edmonds PD as Executive Board Chief Position. **Motion by Chief Cobb. Second by Sheriff Nowels. Motion passed unanimously.**

GOOD OF THE ORDER:

Membership applications were reviewed by the Executive Board.

[Contact Name]	[Organization]	Job Title	Sponsor	Membership Type
Active Applications				
Mike Herrington	FBI	SAC	Chief Lowe	Active
Gary Hirst	Oroville Police Dept.	Police Chief	Chief Christman	Active
Kevin Turner	Burlington Police Dept.	Chief of Police	Sheriff McDermott	Active
Marcus Williams	Sound Transit Police	Chief of Police	Sheriff Cole-Tindall	Active
Chad Sample	Westport Police Department	Chief	Wallace & Tanksley	Active
Keith Swank	Pierce County Sheriff Department	Sheriff	Ryan Spurling	Active
Affiliate Applications				
John Swan	Yakima County Department of Corrections	Training and Recruiting Coordinator	Sheriff Udell	Affiliate
Karen Horowitz	Thurston County Prosecuting Attorney's Office	Senior Deputy Prosecuting Attorney	Sheriff Sanders	Affiliate
Brittany Lutz	Quincy Police Department	Administrative Assistant	Chief Green	Affiliate
Melinda Black	Snoqualmie Police Department	Administrative Coordinator	Chief Brian Lynch	Affiliate
Brett Johnson	Firstnet Authority	Senior Public Safety Advisor	Rafael Padilla	Affiliate
Associate Application	S			
Ron Belcher	Quinault Nation PD	Lieutenant	Re-instate	Associate
Ryan Durbin	Washington State Patrol	Lieutenant	Chief Batiste	Associate
Richard Loyd	Washington State Department of Natural Resources Police	Sergeant	Chief Ramirez	Associate
Dave Clary	Centralia Police Department	Commander	Chief Caldwell	Associate
Buddy Croy	Centralia PD	Patrol Commander	Chief Andy Caldwell	Associate
Mark Benner	Spokane County Sheriff's Office	Sergeant	Chief Ellis	Associate
Jacob Keith	Airway Heights Police Department	Lieutenant	Chief Richmond	Associate
Ira Cavin	Yakima Police Department	Lieutenant	Chief Boyle	Associate
Jenny Hovda	Thurston County Sheriff's Office	Chief Deputy	Sheriff Sanders	Associate
Ruben Mancillas	Thurston County Sheriff's Office	Undersheriff	Sheriff Sanders	Associate
Miguel Anguiano	Western Washington University Police Department	Deputy Chief of Police	Chief Katy Potts	Associate
Travis Card	Ferndale PD	Lieutenant	Chief Huffman	Associate
Edward Bauck	Clallam County Sheriff	Correctional Deputy	Chief King	Associate
Kevin Fairchild	Everett Police Department	Captain	Chief DeRousse	Associate
Brandon Skeen	Auburn PD	Commander	Chief Caillier	Associate
Chad Rothenberger	Clark County Sheriff's Office	Enforcement Branch Chief	Sheriff Horch	Associate
Adam Seig	Thurston County Sheriff's Office	Chief Deputy	Sheriff Sanders	Associate
Membership Transfer	S			
Andy Caldwell	Centralia PD	Chief	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer
Matt Huffman	Ferndale PD	Chief (Interim)	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer
Troy Price	Vancouver PD	Chief	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer
Bryan Moore	Dupont PD	Chief	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer
Doug Newman	Fife PD	Assistant Chief	Former Active - Associate	Membership Transfer
Mark Williams	Suquamish PD	Chief	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer
Tony Perez	Evergreen State Collge PD	Interim Chief	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer
Shawn Ledford	Tulaip Tribal Services	Chief (membership was in-active for 4 months)	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer
Zane Freschette	Washougal PD	Chief (Replacing Wendi Steinbronn	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer
Shawn Boyle	Yakima Police Department	Chief	Former Associate - Active	Membership Transfer

Need motion to APPROVE membership applications. Motion by Chief Padilla. Second by Sheriff Morris. Motion passed unanimously.

Executive Board Meeting Schedule

- April 9, 2025 | Virtual
- May 21, 2025 | Spokane Convention Center
- September | Campbells Resort
- November 11, 2025 | Three Rivers Convention Center

Meeting adjourned by Sheriff Morris at 10:36 AM.